Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition: The Notable Nine

If you’ve stopped by the library lately, maybe you’ve seen the Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition bulletin board! It features brand new books from favorite authors, intriguing debut novels, must-read crossover releases, and at least one jaw-dropping cover (can you guess which one?). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks?? Leave a comment and let me know!

  • Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao
    This is a dark and mystical reimagining of the Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress.
  • Everything Must Go by Jenny Fran Davis
    Flora won’t admit it to anyone, but she’s in love with Elijah. When he tells her about the hippie Quaker school where he’ll be teaching next year, Flora gives up her upper east side prep school for a life on a farm, hoping to woo him. When Elijah doesn’t show up, Flora must make the most of the situation and will ultimately learn more about herself than she ever thought possible. Told in a series of letters, emails, journal entries and various ephemera, Jenny Fran Davis lays out Flora’s dramatic year for all to see!
  • The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
    A haunting, richly atmospheric, and deeply suspenseful novel about an investigator who must use her unique insights to find a missing little girl.
  • Strange Weather: Four Short Novels by Joe Hill (Ms. Pickett is obsessed)
    With this collection of short novels, the brilliantly imaginative Joe Hill delivers not one but four ingeniously wrought, chilling gems of terror!
  • Warcross by Marie Lu
    When a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths. Marie Lu has conjured an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.
  • Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
    This is a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives. 
  • A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck
    After years of pining for the girl next door, 15-year-old Matthew Wainwright must deal with Tabby dating a popular senior just when he needs her most. This fiercely funny, heartbreaking debut novel is perfect for fans of Phantom Limbs and All the Bright Places.
  • All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
    Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars. At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. The incomparable Maggie Stiefvater gives us a masterful tale of love, fear, darkness, and redemption.
  • Artemis by Andy Weir
    The bestselling author of The Martian returns with an irresistible new near-future thriller: a heist story set on the moon.
Posted in new books

It’s Tuesday! Time to Read a New Release!

These brand new books are available today in the Ridley High School Library!!

  • Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau
    Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the crown, the future of the kingdom was secure. But when Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option: to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of the crown. After all, who better to find your weakness than the one who shares your blood?
  • Once and for All by Sarah Dessen
    Louna’s summer job is to help brides plan their perfect day, even though she stopped believing in happily-ever-after when her first love ended tragically. But charming Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged now that he’s met the one he really wants. Maybe Louna’s second chance is standing right in front of her! Sarah Dessen’s many fans will adore this novel, an enormously entertaining story with humor, romance, and an ending that is so much more than happily-ever-after.
  • Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser
    For generations, Caroline’s family has been called by the river god, who has guided them on countless voyages. Now seventeen, Caro is ready to meet her fate, but the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will. Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, without the river god to help her. Song of the Current is an immersive and romantic debut fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world!
Posted in new books

It’s Tuesday! Time to Read a New Release!

These brand new books are available today in the Ridley High School Library!!

  • I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo
    As a high school senior, Desi Lee has never missed a day of school and never had a B. But in her charmed school life, there’s one thing missing—she’s a known disaster in romance! Desi decides to tackle her flirting failures by looking for answers in the Korean dramas her father watches. All’s fair in love and Korean dramas … right? Find out in this fun, fresh teen romance from Maurene Goo!
  • One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus
    Everyone has secrets, but what matters is how far you would go to protect them … Pretty Little Liars meets The Breakfast Club in this flat-out addictive story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive.

 

 

Posted in new books

It’s Tuesday! Time to Read a New Release!

This brand new book is available today in the Ridley High School Library!!

  • The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
    Lucy was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at their childhood summer camp. But when her mom’s cancer reappears, Lucy falters in her ability to cope. Then her boyfriend “pauses” their relationship and she’s transferred to a camp for troubled kids. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing. But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

Lord

Posted in Blogging for Books

A gripping, modern Midwestern Gothic!

The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel has arrived!!
roanoke-girls

Was this book written just for Ms. Pickett? It’s so in my wheelhouse! It’s ringing all of my bells! I’m here for The Roanoke Girls! Here’s why: that intriguing cover, a spookily labyrinthine farmhouse, seemingly idyllic small-town life churning with betrayals, a young woman’s struggle to break free of her own history, and the (really) dark secrets of the Roanoke family ….

After her mother’s suicide, 15-year old Lane Roanoke is sent to New Osage, Kansas, to live with her grandparents and cousin Allegra. Ten years later, Allegra has vanished and Lane returns to the Roanoke estate at her grandfather’s request. Chapters alternate between Lane’s indelible summer in Osage Flats (“Then”), and the fraught days following Allegra’s disappearance (“Now”). It all feels like standard girl-gone-missing fare until Amy Engel tosses a literary flash bang at the reader on page 32. Allegra’s own words are prophetic: “Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die.” It’s finding out why the Roanoke girls don’t last long that will keep you turning pages at a frantic pace even as the chills run down your spine.

This modern twist on a rural Gothic noir calls to mind some of my recent favorites: S•Town PodcastWhere All Light Tends to Go by David Joy, The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh, All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda, My Sunshine Away by M.O. Walsh, and (from my TBR list) Let Me Die In His Footsteps by Lori Roy.

The Roanoke Girls is available now in the Ridley High School Library. Thank you to Blogging for Books for providing a copy in exchange for an honest review!

Posted in new books

It’s Tuesday! Time to Read a New Release!

These brand new books are available today in the Ridley High School Library!!

  • Into the Water by Paula Hawkins
    Beware a calm surface … you never know what lies beneath.
    The author of the #1 New York Times bestseller and global phenomenon The Girl on the Train returns with Into the Water, her addictive new novel of psychological suspense!
  • Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman
    Anise can’t wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach in Santa Cruz with her friends. But when her aunt is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins in landlocked Nebraska. With every photo and text, her friends back home feel further away. Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who dares her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Anise isn’t one to shy away from a challenge, because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.