Posted in Library News

November’s Library News & New Books!

Thanks for taking a moment to read about the newest audiobooks in our OverDrive lending library, the best new books to read, Great Lives from History: 2000-2016, November’s Top Three books, and more! Just click on the image for all of November’s news worth checking out!November

Advertisements
Posted in Blogging for Books

The Graphic History of Alexander Hamilton

Alexander Hamilton: founding father, familiar face on the $10 bill, subject of a musical you might have heard of, and now the star of his own graphic history:9780399580000The biography opens with Hamilton’s childhood in the West Indies, where he grew up the “bastard brat of a Scotch pedlar” (thanks, John Adams). Essentially orphaned, Hamilton departed for America after St. Croix’s prominent citizens raised money to fund his education. Alexander Hamilton never looked back. He went on to serve alongside George Washington in the Revolutionary War before becoming the first Secretary of the Treasury (and full-time thorn in the side of Thomas Jefferson). He also repeatedly crossed paths with and developed a profound contempt for Aaron Burr, who ultimately challenged his rival to the duel that ended Hamilton’s life.

Alexander Hamilton casts a wide historical net, covering plenty of background information on the philosophical origins of democracy, the Boston Tea Party, the American Revolution, the creation of the Constitution, and more. Jonathan Hennessey’s exposition-heavy style of narration may deter readers who are hoping for a Hamilton highlight reel. This is, instead, a rigorously-researched factual biography, and the text’s challenges occasionally outweigh its rewards. On the other hand, Justin Greenwood’s vibrant, energetic artwork will hold the reader’s interest on every page. Overall, Alexander Hamilton is an engaging tour through the life and times of one of the Revolutionary Era’s most well-known but somehow unknowable figures, a man who “straddles history and myth.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to Blogging for Books for providing a copy in exchange for an honest review!

Posted in Library News

September’s Library News & New Books!

Here is the Ridley High School Library newsletter for September, with all of the news and new books worth checking out! Thanks for taking a moment to read about a brand new digital resource called Exploring Issues, the upcoming Big Library Read, September’s Top Three books, and the latest bestseller to go from the bookshelf to the big screen!

Just click on the image for all of September’s news worth checking out!September

Posted in new books

Five Weeks, Five Must-Read Books!

Each of these must-read new releases will be available in the Ridley High School Library on its “book birthday”! There is something for everyone:

  • Mind-blowing science fiction
  • Boundary-breaking fantasy
  • Chillingly smart horror
  • Heart-wrenching realism
  • Breathtaking fractured fairy tales

Stop by today to check out our new arrivals, and remember that you can always place holds on new books and old favorites via Destiny Quest!

Game+Changers+eblast+2

Posted in Blogging for Books

Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

The Ridley High School Library says hello to Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner…Zentner

“Where are you guys? Text me back.” This seemingly unremarkable text from Carver Briggs to his three best friends may have precipitated the car crash that killed Blake, Eli, and Mars. Now the fourth member of their “Sauce Crew” must face both senior year at Nashville Arts Academy without his closest friends and a potential criminal charge of negligent homicide. Some of his classmates sympathize with Carver, and others (including Eli’s twin sister) blame him for the tragedy. Carver finds solace in the company of Eli’s former girlfriend, Jesmyn, even though part of him feels like he’s betraying Eli by growing closer with her. Meanwhile, Blake’s grandmother invites Carver to spend a “goodbye day” with her doing all the things that Blake loved best. As grief, guilt, panic attacks, and legal fees threaten the stability of Carver’s world he must find a way to make it through the goodbye days and go on living.

Jeff Zentner won the 2017 Morris Award for his debut novel, The Serpent King. In my opinion Goodbye Days, with its emotionally resonant depiction of a hot-button issue, is an even better book. The richness of Nashville’s arts scene and unique locales (including Centennial Park, the iconic Ryman Auditorium, and Parnassus Books) imbues every page and provides a wonderful backdrop to the story. Goodbye Days is a perfect choice for readers who enjoyed Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner. 

Thank you to Blogging for Books for providing a copy in exchange for an honest review!

Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition: The Notable Nine

If you’ve stopped by the library lately, maybe you’ve seen the Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition bulletin board! It features brand new books from favorite authors, intriguing debut novels, must-read crossover releases, and at least one jaw-dropping cover (can you guess which one?). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks?? Leave a comment and let me know!

  • Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao
    This is a dark and mystical reimagining of the Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress.
  • Everything Must Go by Jenny Fran Davis
    Flora won’t admit it to anyone, but she’s in love with Elijah. When he tells her about the hippie Quaker school where he’ll be teaching next year, Flora gives up her upper east side prep school for a life on a farm, hoping to woo him. When Elijah doesn’t show up, Flora must make the most of the situation and will ultimately learn more about herself than she ever thought possible. Told in a series of letters, emails, journal entries and various ephemera, Jenny Fran Davis lays out Flora’s dramatic year for all to see!
  • The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
    A haunting, richly atmospheric, and deeply suspenseful novel about an investigator who must use her unique insights to find a missing little girl.
  • Strange Weather: Four Short Novels by Joe Hill (Ms. Pickett is obsessed)
    With this collection of short novels, the brilliantly imaginative Joe Hill delivers not one but four ingeniously wrought, chilling gems of terror!
  • Warcross by Marie Lu
    When a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths. Marie Lu has conjured an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.
  • Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
    This is a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives. 
  • A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck
    After years of pining for the girl next door, 15-year-old Matthew Wainwright must deal with Tabby dating a popular senior just when he needs her most. This fiercely funny, heartbreaking debut novel is perfect for fans of Phantom Limbs and All the Bright Places.
  • All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
    Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars. At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. The incomparable Maggie Stiefvater gives us a masterful tale of love, fear, darkness, and redemption.
  • Artemis by Andy Weir
    The bestselling author of The Martian returns with an irresistible new near-future thriller: a heist story set on the moon.