Posted in Library News

March: News Worth Checking Out!

Just click on the image for all of this month’s highlights
from the Ridley High School 
Library!

March

Advertisements
Posted in Library News

February: News Worth Checking Out!

Just click on the image for information about all of this month’s recommended reads, the Delaware County Library System’s Museum Pass program, our current “Loan Stars,” and more!February

Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks: Spring 2019 Edition!

It’s time for another round-up of Pickett’s Picks, Spring 2019 Edition! This time I’ve compiled a dozen intriguing debut novels, brand new books from favorite authors, must-read crossover releases, and at least one delectable cover (can you guess which one?). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks?? Leave a comment and let me know!

Internment by Samira Ahmed
A sophomore effort by an author who is stepping up her already-strong game! Internment depicts a dystopian near-future United Sates where Muslim-Americans are forced into internment camps, and seventeen-year-old Layla Amin must lead a revolution against complicit silence.

Serious Moonlight by Jenn Bennett
Eighteen-year-old, mystery-loving Birdie’s new job at a historic Seattle hotel leads her and her co-worker, Daniel, to a real mystery about a reclusive writer who resides there. I love a fresh, contemporary romance with a unique setting, and this one sounds perfect!

Somewhere Only We Know by Maurene Goo
Sparks fly between a K pop starlet and a tabloid reporter in this heartwarming rom-com! Maurene Goo is just as talented at writing the comedy as the romance in each of her “rom-com” novels, and I can’t wait to read her latest!

You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn
This good, ol’-fashioned love story asks: can the right song and the perfect summer on the road make two broken hearts whole? (My prediction.)

The Current by Tim Johnston
The author of Descent (one of my all-time faves) is back with another suspenseful crossover novel! When two young women leave their college campus in the dead of winter for a 700-mile drive home to Minnesota, they find themselves fighting for their lives in the icy waters of the Black Root River. One girl’s survival and the other’s death stun the citizens of their small town, thawing memories of another young woman who lost her life in the same river ten years earlier, and whose killer may yet live among them. I have no doubt that readers will be swept up in this Current!

The Invited by Jennifer McMahon
A chilling ghost story with a twist: the story of a husband and wife who don’t simply move into a haunted house, they start building one from scratch, without knowing it, until it’s too late … Yes, please, to all of the above.

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia
In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival. You had me at “perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale“!

Opposite of Always by Justin A. Reynolds
When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he’s falling for her. But then Kate dies. And their story should end there. But Kate’s death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate’s there again: healthy, happy, and charming. If he has a chance to prevent Kate’s death, he’ll take it. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. When one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.

On the Come Up by Angie Thomas
The incomparable Angie Thomas is back with her second novel! On the Come Up is the story of Bri, a 16-year-old whose rap goes viral for the wrong reasons, leading to trouble for her family and an eviction notice. The Hate U Give was the novel of 2017, and early word is that On the Come Up is as good if not better!

Small Town Hearts by Lillie Vale
Fresh out of high school, Babe Vogel should be thrilled to have the whole summer at her fingertips. She loves living in her lighthouse home in the sleepy Maine beach town of Oar’s Rest and being a barista at the Busy Bean, but she’s worried about how her life will change when her two best friends go to college in the fall. And when a reckless kiss causes all three of them to break up, she may lose them a lot sooner. I love a novel that portrays a transformational season in a character’s life … plus coffee and pastries!!

The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker
This new novel by the author of The Age of Miracles will appeal to both the horror geek and the literary nerd. It’s about a college town transformed by a strange illness that locks victims in a perpetual sleep and triggers life-altering dreams. The town descends into panic and chaos, trying to stay awake but also trying to understand: What are they dreaming about?

Rayne & Delilah’s Midnite Matinee by Jeff Zentner
Best friends Delia and Josie host a campy creature feature show called Midnite Matinee on the local cable station. But with the end of senior year quickly approaching, the girls face tough decisions about their own futures and the future of their show. As the tug-of-war between growing up and growing apart tests the bonds of their friendship, the girls start to realize that an uncertain future can be both monstrous…and momentous. Jeff Zentner excels at depicting true-to-life friendships, complete with humor and heartache, and I’ve already booked a ticket for this Midnite Matinee!

Posted in Library News, Reading Tips

Reboot Your TBR, Day 5: Phone a Friend!

Welcome back to Reboot Your TBR! All week long, I’ve shared my tried-and-true strategies for choosing the right book at the right time. Did I overlook a TBR reboot method that works for you? Leave a comment and let me know! In the meantime, enjoy this series finale:

When all else fails, ask a friend for a book recommendation. Your friends know you really well, and they are a great resource to call upon when you are having trouble choosing something to read. The best part of getting book recommendations from your friends is being able to talk about the book together after you have read it. As a bonus, the book will be much more meaningful to you when you associate it with a close pal. My friends know my taste in books almost as well as they know me, so I put a lot of faith in their recommendations. Your friends are also a perfect sounding board when you’re stuck between two or three books and can’t settle on which one to read. Describe the books to a friend, and they will always steer you in the right direction. Here’s the latest book I picked up, (naturally) on a bestie’s recommendation:

EskensHere’s a quick plot summary from the publisher: College student Joe Talbert’s English class assignment is to interview a stranger and write a brief biography of the person. With deadlines looming, Joe heads to a nearby nursing home to find a willing subject. There he meets Carl Iverson, a dying Vietnam veteran and a convicted murderer, medically paroled to a nursing home after spending thirty years in prison. Unable to reconcile Carl’s heroism in Vietnam with the despicable acts of the convict, Joe throws himself into unraveling the tapestry of Carl’s history. But will he discover the truth before it’s too late to escape the fallout?

Thank you to Ms. Watts for the recommendation. I look forward to reading the book and discussing it together … maybe over a coffee? 💁☕️📖

Posted in Library News, Reading Tips

Reboot Your TBR, Day 4: #Bookstagram

Welcome back to Reboot Your TBR! All week long, I’m sharing my tried-and-true strategies for choosing the right book at the right time. Check out the first three posts, and stay tuned for one final TBR Reboot tip tomorrow!

Day 4: #Bookstagram. The last time I searched Instagram for #Bookstagram, almost 24,000,000 results came up! The content varies wildly from one account to another, but it’s always fun to see what (and where) people are reading, what delicious coffee-themed beverages they are enjoying while turning (or swiping) pages, and just how much care our fellow book lovers put into their #Bookstagram posts. Scroll through just a dozen or so images and I guarantee that a book or two will catch your eye. As a bonus, you will probably see a lot of cute cats while browsing posts. Not sure where to start? I recommend clicking here to view some delectable images of Reese Witherspoon’s recent book club selection, Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens.

And here are a few miscellaneous strategies I save for those times when every book looks good, but not quite right

  1. The List Randomizer. Type a handful of “contender” book titles into a form (each on a separate line), click on Randomize, and watch your next read appear at the top of a list!
  2. BlackThe Color Coordinator. Browse the library or bookstore shelves for a book cover that matches your birthstone. Mine is an emerald, and I found …
    Girl at the Grave by Teri Bailey Black
    Debut author Teri Bailey Black unearths the long-buried secrets of a small 1850s New England town in this richly atmospheric Gothic tale of murder, guilt, redemption, and finding love where least expected.
  3. The Bookshelf Benchwarmer. Which book has been on your bookshelf the longest? Now is the time to pick it up and jump in! My bookshelf  benchwarmer is The Invisible Circus by Jennifer Egan:
    EganSet in 1978, the political drama and familial tensions of the 1960s form a backdrop for the world of Phoebe O’Connor, age eighteen. Phoebe is obsessed with the memory of her sister Faith, a beautiful hippie who died in Italy in 1970. In order to find out the truth about Faith’s life and death, Phoebe retraces her steps from San Francisco across Europe, a quest that yields complex revelations about family, love, and Faith’s lost generation.