Posted in Library News

September’s Library News & New Books!

Here is the Ridley High School Library newsletter for September, with all of the news and new books worth checking out! Thanks for taking a moment to read about a brand new digital resource called Exploring Issues, the upcoming Big Library Read, September’s Top Three books, and the latest bestseller to go from the bookshelf to the big screen!

Just click on the image for all of September’s news worth checking out!September

Advertisements
Posted in new books

Five Weeks, Five Must-Read Books!

Each of these must-read new releases will be available in the Ridley High School Library on its “book birthday”! There is something for everyone:

  • Mind-blowing science fiction
  • Boundary-breaking fantasy
  • Chillingly smart horror
  • Heart-wrenching realism
  • Breathtaking fractured fairy tales

Stop by today to check out our new arrivals, and remember that you can always place holds on new books and old favorites via Destiny Quest!

Game+Changers+eblast+2

Posted in Blogging for Books

Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

The Ridley High School Library says hello to Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner…Zentner

“Where are you guys? Text me back.” This seemingly unremarkable text from Carver Briggs to his three best friends may have precipitated the car crash that killed Blake, Eli, and Mars. Now the fourth member of their “Sauce Crew” must face both senior year at Nashville Arts Academy without his closest friends and a potential criminal charge of negligent homicide. Some of his classmates sympathize with Carver, and others (including Eli’s twin sister) blame him for the tragedy. Carver finds solace in the company of Eli’s former girlfriend, Jesmyn, even though part of him feels like he’s betraying Eli by growing closer with her. Meanwhile, Blake’s grandmother invites Carver to spend a “goodbye day” with her doing all the things that Blake loved best. As grief, guilt, panic attacks, and legal fees threaten the stability of Carver’s world he must find a way to make it through the goodbye days and go on living.

Jeff Zentner won the 2017 Morris Award for his debut novel, The Serpent King. In my opinion Goodbye Days, with its emotionally resonant depiction of a hot-button issue, is an even better book. The richness of Nashville’s arts scene and unique locales (including Centennial Park, the iconic Ryman Auditorium, and Parnassus Books) imbues every page and provides a wonderful backdrop to the story. Goodbye Days is a perfect choice for readers who enjoyed Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner. 

Thank you to Blogging for Books for providing a copy in exchange for an honest review!

Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition: The Notable Nine

If you’ve stopped by the library lately, maybe you’ve seen the Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition bulletin board! It features brand new books from favorite authors, intriguing debut novels, must-read crossover releases, and at least one jaw-dropping cover (can you guess which one?). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks?? Leave a comment and let me know!

  • Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao
    This is a dark and mystical reimagining of the Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress.
  • Everything Must Go by Jenny Fran Davis
    Flora won’t admit it to anyone, but she’s in love with Elijah. When he tells her about the hippie Quaker school where he’ll be teaching next year, Flora gives up her upper east side prep school for a life on a farm, hoping to woo him. When Elijah doesn’t show up, Flora must make the most of the situation and will ultimately learn more about herself than she ever thought possible. Told in a series of letters, emails, journal entries and various ephemera, Jenny Fran Davis lays out Flora’s dramatic year for all to see!
  • The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
    A haunting, richly atmospheric, and deeply suspenseful novel about an investigator who must use her unique insights to find a missing little girl.
  • Strange Weather: Four Short Novels by Joe Hill (Ms. Pickett is obsessed)
    With this collection of short novels, the brilliantly imaginative Joe Hill delivers not one but four ingeniously wrought, chilling gems of terror!
  • Warcross by Marie Lu
    When a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths. Marie Lu has conjured an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.
  • Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
    This is a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives. 
  • A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck
    After years of pining for the girl next door, 15-year-old Matthew Wainwright must deal with Tabby dating a popular senior just when he needs her most. This fiercely funny, heartbreaking debut novel is perfect for fans of Phantom Limbs and All the Bright Places.
  • All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
    Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars. At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. The incomparable Maggie Stiefvater gives us a masterful tale of love, fear, darkness, and redemption.
  • Artemis by Andy Weir
    The bestselling author of The Martian returns with an irresistible new near-future thriller: a heist story set on the moon.
Posted in new books

It’s Tuesday! Time to Read a New Release!

These brand new books are available today in the Ridley High School Library!!

  • Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau
    Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the crown, the future of the kingdom was secure. But when Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option: to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of the crown. After all, who better to find your weakness than the one who shares your blood?
  • Once and for All by Sarah Dessen
    Louna’s summer job is to help brides plan their perfect day, even though she stopped believing in happily-ever-after when her first love ended tragically. But charming Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged now that he’s met the one he really wants. Maybe Louna’s second chance is standing right in front of her! Sarah Dessen’s many fans will adore this novel, an enormously entertaining story with humor, romance, and an ending that is so much more than happily-ever-after.
  • Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser
    For generations, Caroline’s family has been called by the river god, who has guided them on countless voyages. Now seventeen, Caro is ready to meet her fate, but the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will. Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, without the river god to help her. Song of the Current is an immersive and romantic debut fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world!
Posted in new books

It’s Tuesday! Time to Read a New Release!

These brand new books are available today in the Ridley High School Library!!

  • I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo
    As a high school senior, Desi Lee has never missed a day of school and never had a B. But in her charmed school life, there’s one thing missing—she’s a known disaster in romance! Desi decides to tackle her flirting failures by looking for answers in the Korean dramas her father watches. All’s fair in love and Korean dramas … right? Find out in this fun, fresh teen romance from Maurene Goo!
  • One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus
    Everyone has secrets, but what matters is how far you would go to protect them … Pretty Little Liars meets The Breakfast Club in this flat-out addictive story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive.