Posted in Library News

June’s Library News & New Books!

Thanks for taking a moment to read about the highlights of the 2017-2018 school year in the Ridley High School Library! Just click on the image for all of this June’s news worth checking out:5a68aad6e2d1a40cf6d243b3-screenshot-large

Advertisements
Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks: Spring 2018 Edition!

If you’ve stopped by the library lately, maybe you’ve seen the Pickett’s Picks bulletin board, Spring 2018 Edition! It features brand new books from favorite authors, intriguing debut novels, must-read crossover releases, and at least one jaw-dropping cover (can you guess which one?). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks?? Leave a comment and let me know!

  • Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
    In Zélie’s world, magic has disappeared and magis are targeted by a ruthless king. Seventeen year-old Zélie has always feared she would share the fate of her mother, who was assassinated by the king’s guards. With the help of her brother and the fugitive Crown Princess, Zélie sets off on a journey to restore her people’s magical abilities. Get ready for danger, magic, and star-crossed romance!
  • A Girl Like That by Tanaz Bhathena
    In this debut novel set in Saudi Arabia, where the law forbids romantic relationships outside of marriage, two teens fall in love with tragic consequences.
  • The Wild Inside by Jamey Bradbury
    This electrifying debut is a fusion of psychological thriller and coming-of-age tale: Trapper/hunter Tracy Petrikoff knows her way around the Alaskan wilderness but can’t remember what happened when she was attacked in the woods. This has been described as “the Bronte sisters meet Stephen King”; need I say more?
  • The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton
    In a world where Beauty is a commodity only a few control, one Belle will learn the dark secrets behind her powers, and rise up to change the world.
  • Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles
    When Marvin Johnson’s twin brother, Tyler, is shot and killed by a police officer, Marvin must fight injustice to learn the true meaning of freedom. This one puts me in mind of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, and I can’t wait to read it!
  • The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn
    Anna Fox lives alone–a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine, watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors. But when Anna sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble. Twisty, ingenious, and moving.
  • Relative Strangers by Paula Garner
    A simple quest to find a baby picture for the senior yearbook leads to an earth-shattering discovery: for most of the first two years of her life, Jules lived in foster care. Reeling from feelings of betrayal and with only the flimsiest of clues, Jules sets out to learn the truth about her past. This is a poignant coming-of-age novel about making peace with missing pieces from the author of Phantom Limbs.
  • The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
    The new novel from the beloved author of bestseller The Nightingale!
    Alaska, 1974. Untamed. Unpredictable. And for a family in crisis, the ultimate test of the human spirit.
  • Dread Nation by Justina Ireland
    At once provocative, terrifying, and darkly subversive, Dread Nation is Justina Ireland’s stunning vision of an America both foreign and familiar: a country on the brink, at the explosive crossroads where race, humanity, and survival meet. Also, it’s the Civil War plus the undead and I am so here for it!!
  • Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough
    A stunning debut novel-in-verse based on the true story of the iconic painter, Artemisia Gentileschi. Enduring the subjugation of women, rape, and torture, Artemisia is buoyed by her deceased mother’s stories of strong women of the Bible.
Posted in Library News

September’s Library News & New Books!

Here is the Ridley High School Library newsletter for September, with all of the news and new books worth checking out! Thanks for taking a moment to read about a brand new digital resource called Exploring Issues, the upcoming Big Library Read, September’s Top Three books, and the latest bestseller to go from the bookshelf to the big screen!

Just click on the image for all of September’s news worth checking out!September

Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition: The Notable Nine

If you’ve stopped by the library lately, maybe you’ve seen the Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition bulletin board! It features brand new books from favorite authors, intriguing debut novels, must-read crossover releases, and at least one jaw-dropping cover (can you guess which one?). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks?? Leave a comment and let me know!

  • Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao
    This is a dark and mystical reimagining of the Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress.
  • Everything Must Go by Jenny Fran Davis
    Flora won’t admit it to anyone, but she’s in love with Elijah. When he tells her about the hippie Quaker school where he’ll be teaching next year, Flora gives up her upper east side prep school for a life on a farm, hoping to woo him. When Elijah doesn’t show up, Flora must make the most of the situation and will ultimately learn more about herself than she ever thought possible. Told in a series of letters, emails, journal entries and various ephemera, Jenny Fran Davis lays out Flora’s dramatic year for all to see!
  • The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
    A haunting, richly atmospheric, and deeply suspenseful novel about an investigator who must use her unique insights to find a missing little girl.
  • Strange Weather: Four Short Novels by Joe Hill (Ms. Pickett is obsessed)
    With this collection of short novels, the brilliantly imaginative Joe Hill delivers not one but four ingeniously wrought, chilling gems of terror!
  • Warcross by Marie Lu
    When a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths. Marie Lu has conjured an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.
  • Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
    This is a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives. 
  • A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck
    After years of pining for the girl next door, 15-year-old Matthew Wainwright must deal with Tabby dating a popular senior just when he needs her most. This fiercely funny, heartbreaking debut novel is perfect for fans of Phantom Limbs and All the Bright Places.
  • All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
    Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars. At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. The incomparable Maggie Stiefvater gives us a masterful tale of love, fear, darkness, and redemption.
  • Artemis by Andy Weir
    The bestselling author of The Martian returns with an irresistible new near-future thriller: a heist story set on the moon.