Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition: The Notable Nine

If you’ve stopped by the library lately, maybe you’ve seen the Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition bulletin board! It features brand new books from favorite authors, intriguing debut novels, must-read crossover releases, and at least one jaw-dropping cover (can you guess which one?). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks?? Leave a comment and let me know!

  • Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao
    This is a dark and mystical reimagining of the Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress.
  • Everything Must Go by Jenny Fran Davis
    Flora won’t admit it to anyone, but she’s in love with Elijah. When he tells her about the hippie Quaker school where he’ll be teaching next year, Flora gives up her upper east side prep school for a life on a farm, hoping to woo him. When Elijah doesn’t show up, Flora must make the most of the situation and will ultimately learn more about herself than she ever thought possible. Told in a series of letters, emails, journal entries and various ephemera, Jenny Fran Davis lays out Flora’s dramatic year for all to see!
  • The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
    A haunting, richly atmospheric, and deeply suspenseful novel about an investigator who must use her unique insights to find a missing little girl.
  • Strange Weather: Four Short Novels by Joe Hill (Ms. Pickett is obsessed)
    With this collection of short novels, the brilliantly imaginative Joe Hill delivers not one but four ingeniously wrought, chilling gems of terror!
  • Warcross by Marie Lu
    When a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths. Marie Lu has conjured an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.
  • Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
    This is a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives. 
  • A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck
    After years of pining for the girl next door, 15-year-old Matthew Wainwright must deal with Tabby dating a popular senior just when he needs her most. This fiercely funny, heartbreaking debut novel is perfect for fans of Phantom Limbs and All the Bright Places.
  • All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
    Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars. At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. The incomparable Maggie Stiefvater gives us a masterful tale of love, fear, darkness, and redemption.
  • Artemis by Andy Weir
    The bestselling author of The Martian returns with an irresistible new near-future thriller: a heist story set on the moon.
Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks, Spring 2017 Edition: A Perfect Ten!

If you’ve stopped by the library lately, maybe you’ve seen the Pickett’s Picks bulletin board, Spring 2017 Edition! It features brand new books from favorite authors, intriguing debut novels, must-read crossover releases, and at least one jaw-dropping cover (can you guess which one?*). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks for the coming months?? Leave me a comment, or stop by the library to let me know. Happy Reading in 2017!

The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney (January, 2017)
A psychological thriller that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity and deception. The must-read thriller of the season? Yes, please!

*Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios (June, 2017)
When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she’s unable to escape. This is a heartfelt story about spiraling into darkness … and emerging into the light again.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber (January, 2017)
Welcome to Caraval! It’s more than just a game or a performance; it’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world … And whatever you’ve heard, it doesn’t compare to the reality. Get caught up in this sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles (January, 2017)
When their worlds collide, a Montana girl named Zoe and a bounty hunter called X grapple with the ultimate sacrifice in order to be together in this cinematic, star-crossed debut.

The You I’ve Never Known by Ellen Hopkins (January, 2017)
Bestselling author Ellen Hopkins has penned a new novel in verse that poses an impossible question: How do you live your life if your past is based on a lie?

Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham (February, 2017)
When 17-year old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family’s property, she has no idea that investigating the brutal murder will lead to a summer of painful discoveries about the past… and the present.

Everything You Want Me to Be by Mindy Mejia (January, 2017)
Full of twists and turns, this mesmerizing crossover novel reconstructs a year in the life of a beguiling young woman, during which a small town’s darkest secrets come to the forefront…and she inches closer and closer to mortal danger.

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs (March, 2017)
Orphan Black meets Lord of the Flies in this riveting new thriller from the co-author of the Virals series. What more needs to be said?

A List of Cages by Robin Roe (January, 2017)
Adam Blake has landed the best elective ever: serving as an aide to the school psychologist. Until she asks him to track down the troubled freshman who keeps dodging her. Adam discovers that the boy is Julian – the foster brother he hasn’t seen in five years. Adam is determined to help Julian, but his involvement could cost both boys their lives.

Gem & Dixie by Sara Zarr (April, 2017)
Renowned young adult author Sara Zarr returns with this deep, nuanced, and gorgeously written story about the complex relationship between two sisters from a broken home. This is an unforgettable story of breaking apart and of coming together again.