Posted in Library News

March: News Worth Checking Out!

Just click on the image for all of this month’s highlights
from the Ridley High School 
Library!

March

Advertisements
Posted in Library News

February: News Worth Checking Out!

Just click on the image for information about all of this month’s recommended reads, the Delaware County Library System’s Museum Pass program, our current “Loan Stars,” and more!February

Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks: Spring 2019 Edition!

It’s time for another round-up of Pickett’s Picks, Spring 2019 Edition! This time I’ve compiled a dozen intriguing debut novels, brand new books from favorite authors, must-read crossover releases, and at least one delectable cover (can you guess which one?). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks?? Leave a comment and let me know!

Internment by Samira Ahmed
A sophomore effort by an author who is stepping up her already-strong game! Internment depicts a dystopian near-future United Sates where Muslim-Americans are forced into internment camps, and seventeen-year-old Layla Amin must lead a revolution against complicit silence.

Serious Moonlight by Jenn Bennett
Eighteen-year-old, mystery-loving Birdie’s new job at a historic Seattle hotel leads her and her co-worker, Daniel, to a real mystery about a reclusive writer who resides there. I love a fresh, contemporary romance with a unique setting, and this one sounds perfect!

Somewhere Only We Know by Maurene Goo
Sparks fly between a K pop starlet and a tabloid reporter in this heartwarming rom-com! Maurene Goo is just as talented at writing the comedy as the romance in each of her “rom-com” novels, and I can’t wait to read her latest!

You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn
This good, ol’-fashioned love story asks: can the right song and the perfect summer on the road make two broken hearts whole? (My prediction.)

The Current by Tim Johnston
The author of Descent (one of my all-time faves) is back with another suspenseful crossover novel! When two young women leave their college campus in the dead of winter for a 700-mile drive home to Minnesota, they find themselves fighting for their lives in the icy waters of the Black Root River. One girl’s survival and the other’s death stun the citizens of their small town, thawing memories of another young woman who lost her life in the same river ten years earlier, and whose killer may yet live among them. I have no doubt that readers will be swept up in this Current!

The Invited by Jennifer McMahon
A chilling ghost story with a twist: the story of a husband and wife who don’t simply move into a haunted house, they start building one from scratch, without knowing it, until it’s too late … Yes, please, to all of the above.

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia
In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival. You had me at “perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale“!

Opposite of Always by Justin A. Reynolds
When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he’s falling for her. But then Kate dies. And their story should end there. But Kate’s death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate’s there again: healthy, happy, and charming. If he has a chance to prevent Kate’s death, he’ll take it. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. When one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.

On the Come Up by Angie Thomas
The incomparable Angie Thomas is back with her second novel! On the Come Up is the story of Bri, a 16-year-old whose rap goes viral for the wrong reasons, leading to trouble for her family and an eviction notice. The Hate U Give was the novel of 2017, and early word is that On the Come Up is as good if not better!

Small Town Hearts by Lillie Vale
Fresh out of high school, Babe Vogel should be thrilled to have the whole summer at her fingertips. She loves living in her lighthouse home in the sleepy Maine beach town of Oar’s Rest and being a barista at the Busy Bean, but she’s worried about how her life will change when her two best friends go to college in the fall. And when a reckless kiss causes all three of them to break up, she may lose them a lot sooner. I love a novel that portrays a transformational season in a character’s life … plus coffee and pastries!!

The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker
This new novel by the author of The Age of Miracles will appeal to both the horror geek and the literary nerd. It’s about a college town transformed by a strange illness that locks victims in a perpetual sleep and triggers life-altering dreams. The town descends into panic and chaos, trying to stay awake but also trying to understand: What are they dreaming about?

Rayne & Delilah’s Midnite Matinee by Jeff Zentner
Best friends Delia and Josie host a campy creature feature show called Midnite Matinee on the local cable station. But with the end of senior year quickly approaching, the girls face tough decisions about their own futures and the future of their show. As the tug-of-war between growing up and growing apart tests the bonds of their friendship, the girls start to realize that an uncertain future can be both monstrous…and momentous. Jeff Zentner excels at depicting true-to-life friendships, complete with humor and heartache, and I’ve already booked a ticket for this Midnite Matinee!

Posted in Library News

818* Library Tidbits

The RHS Library has a new home!

Actually, it’s a new HOME PAGE! It looks similar to our previous virtual home, with icons for Research, Reading, and other Useful Links. To access our site:

  • Visit the Ridley High School site
  • Click on the “For Students” tab
  • Scroll to “Library
  • Bookmark the site for easy access throughout the school year!

LibrarySite


The Library’s New Arrivals Display is fully stocked
with hot-off-the-press novels!

By popular demand, our new arrivals are now organized by genre! Now it will be even easier for students to access the books that interest them, or to see what’s new in their favorite genre. We have three sections representing our most popular categories:

  • Fantasy & Horror
  • Mystery & Romance
  • Realistic & Sports

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

See something that looks interesting? Stop by the library today to check it out! If you’re not sure what to read next, revisit last week’s series on how to Reboot Your To-Be-Read list. When all else fails, keep calm and ask a librarian for a recommendation.


A Vote Equals a Voice!

The Pennsylvania Reader’s Choice Award is a book award that gives you, the reader, a voice! Every year, fifteen of the very best books are nominated. These books are all written by North American authors and have been published within the last five years. They really are the best of the best, but your favorite needs YOUR vote to win! Participating is easy: just read (or listen to) at least three of the nominated titles and vote for your favorite in March. The winner will be revealed in April, 2019. And now, thanks to the generosity of the Ridley Educational Foundation, the Library has multiple copies of each nominee! Stop by the library anytime to check out one of the books or pick up a bookmark with the list of nominated titles. Here are a few of my current favorites …

 


* Dewey Decimal number for Miscellaneous Writings.

Thanks for reading!

Posted in Library News, Reading Tips

Reboot Your TBR, Day 5: Phone a Friend!

Welcome back to Reboot Your TBR! All week long, I’ve shared my tried-and-true strategies for choosing the right book at the right time. Did I overlook a TBR reboot method that works for you? Leave a comment and let me know! In the meantime, enjoy this series finale:

When all else fails, ask a friend for a book recommendation. Your friends know you really well, and they are a great resource to call upon when you are having trouble choosing something to read. The best part of getting book recommendations from your friends is being able to talk about the book together after you have read it. As a bonus, the book will be much more meaningful to you when you associate it with a close pal. My friends know my taste in books almost as well as they know me, so I put a lot of faith in their recommendations. Your friends are also a perfect sounding board when you’re stuck between two or three books and can’t settle on which one to read. Describe the books to a friend, and they will always steer you in the right direction. Here’s the latest book I picked up, (naturally) on a bestie’s recommendation:

EskensHere’s a quick plot summary from the publisher: College student Joe Talbert’s English class assignment is to interview a stranger and write a brief biography of the person. With deadlines looming, Joe heads to a nearby nursing home to find a willing subject. There he meets Carl Iverson, a dying Vietnam veteran and a convicted murderer, medically paroled to a nursing home after spending thirty years in prison. Unable to reconcile Carl’s heroism in Vietnam with the despicable acts of the convict, Joe throws himself into unraveling the tapestry of Carl’s history. But will he discover the truth before it’s too late to escape the fallout?

Thank you to Ms. Watts for the recommendation. I look forward to reading the book and discussing it together … maybe over a coffee? 💁☕️📖