Posted in Library News

Pennsylvania Reader’s Choice Award | A Vote Equals a Voice!

Have you ever watched an awards show and thought, “I NEVER would have voted for that movie to win!” Or have you read an award-winning book and thought, “Really?! What were they thinking?!” If so, the Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award is for you! This is a book award that gives you, the reader, a voice! Every year, fifteen of the very best books are nominated. These books are all written by North American authors, and have been published within the last five years. They really are the best of the best, but the winning book needs your vote!

Participating in the Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award is a snap. Here’s how to do it:

  • Read (or listen to) at least three books from the list of nominated titles
  • You do not have to read every book to participate
  • Vote for your favorite book in March!

That’s all there is to it. Stop by the library to pick up a bookmark with the list of nominated titles. Better yet, check out one of the books while you’re here! And once you’ve read a book or two, leave a comment sharing your thoughts about it. Some things you might include in your comment are:

  • Did the book live up to your expectations based on the plot summary?
  • Would you recommend it to a friend?
  • Did you like this book more or less than other books you’ve read recently?
  • Would you vote for this book to win the Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award?

Remember, your favorite book needs YOUR vote to win!

Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition: The Notable Nine

If you’ve stopped by the library lately, maybe you’ve seen the Pickett’s Picks, Fall 2017 Edition bulletin board! It features brand new books from favorite authors, intriguing debut novels, must-read crossover releases, and at least one jaw-dropping cover (can you guess which one?). Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming semester. What are YOUR picks?? Leave a comment and let me know!

  • Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao
    This is a dark and mystical reimagining of the Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress.
  • Everything Must Go by Jenny Fran Davis
    Flora won’t admit it to anyone, but she’s in love with Elijah. When he tells her about the hippie Quaker school where he’ll be teaching next year, Flora gives up her upper east side prep school for a life on a farm, hoping to woo him. When Elijah doesn’t show up, Flora must make the most of the situation and will ultimately learn more about herself than she ever thought possible. Told in a series of letters, emails, journal entries and various ephemera, Jenny Fran Davis lays out Flora’s dramatic year for all to see!
  • The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
    A haunting, richly atmospheric, and deeply suspenseful novel about an investigator who must use her unique insights to find a missing little girl.
  • Strange Weather: Four Short Novels by Joe Hill (Ms. Pickett is obsessed)
    With this collection of short novels, the brilliantly imaginative Joe Hill delivers not one but four ingeniously wrought, chilling gems of terror!
  • Warcross by Marie Lu
    When a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths. Marie Lu has conjured an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.
  • Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
    This is a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives. 
  • A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck
    After years of pining for the girl next door, 15-year-old Matthew Wainwright must deal with Tabby dating a popular senior just when he needs her most. This fiercely funny, heartbreaking debut novel is perfect for fans of Phantom Limbs and All the Bright Places.
  • All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
    Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars. At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. The incomparable Maggie Stiefvater gives us a masterful tale of love, fear, darkness, and redemption.
  • Artemis by Andy Weir
    The bestselling author of The Martian returns with an irresistible new near-future thriller: a heist story set on the moon.
Posted in Library News

The Big Library Read is here!

Big Library Read is the first-ever “global eBook club,” connecting people around the world who read the same eBook (or listen to the audiobook) at the same time! The new selection is The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict!BLROtherEinstein


Here’s a quick summary from the publisher:

Mitza Maric was always a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds would be married with childrenby now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and they form a partnership of the mind and the heart. But there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage … The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Albert Einstein’s enormous shadow.


June 12-26, 2017, unlimited copies of the book are available for checkout through OverDrive! Just visit Delco.Overdrive.com (you’ll need a Delaware County Library System card for this one), and borrow the Big Library Read today! BigLibraryRead.jpg

Posted in Library News

Summer Reading Book Fair!

Ridley High School Library’s Summer Reading Book Fair is now open! Our friends at Children’s Book World in Haverford have delivered required and recommended summer reading titles right to our readers! The books are on display and for sale in the library through June 2, at 20% off the cover price. Please contact Ms. Pickett if you’re interested in bringing your classes by the library to browse the summer reading selections!IMG_0125

Posted in Library News

Summer Reading Book Fair at the RHS Library!

Something new is happening in the Ridley High School Library this season! Our friends at Children’s Book World in Haverford are bringing a Summer Reading Book Fair right to our readers! Required and recommended summer reading titles will be on display and available for sale in the library, May 22-26, at a 20% discount off the cover price. Contact Ms. Pickett if you’re interested in bringing your classes by the library to browse the summer reading selections!171256_feelin'_groovy_book_fair_flyerForm.pdf