Posted in Library News

Pickett’s Picks for 2016!

If you’ve stopped by the library lately, maybe you’ve seen the Pickett’s Picks 2016 bulletin board! It features lots of upcoming books from favorite authors and some incredible new series-starters, too. What are YOUR picks for 2016?? Leave me a comment, or stop by the library to let me know. Here are just a few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with students at Ridley High School during the upcoming year. Happy New Year’s Reading!

 

Dan vs. Nature by Don Calame
From screenwriter Don Calame comes another outrageously funny  tale of teen boys whose plans go awry — this time, on a survivalist camping trip.

Front Lines by Michael Grant
Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines.

The Fireman by Joe Hill
From Ms. Pickett’s FAVORITE AUTHOR comes a chilling novel about a worldwide pandemic of spontaneous combustion that threatens to reduce civilization to ashes, and a band of improbable heroes led by an enigmatic man known only as the Fireman.

The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude
Sixteen-year-old Ivy Templeton has lived her entire life in a farming commune in the Missouri Ozarks. She and her cousin Heather are closer than sisters and share everything with each other, or so Ivy believes. When Heather goes missing after a May Day celebration, Ivy discovers that both her best friend and her community are as full of secrets as the woods that surround them.

When We Collided by Emery Lord
An emotionally compelling romance featuring a girl, a boy, and the love that has the power to save or destroy them. Through each high and low, Vivi and Jonah’s love is put to the test . . . but what happens when love simply isn’t enough?

Riders by Veronica Rossi
Recovering from the accident that most definitely killed him, Gideon finds himself with strange new powers and a bizarre cuff he can’t remove. His death has brought to life his real destiny. He has become War, one of the legendary four horsemen of the apocalypse. Over the coming weeks, he and the other horsemen–Conquest, Famine, and Death–are brought together by a beautiful but secretive girl to help save humanity from an ancient evil.

Bluescreen by Dan Wells
Los Angeles in 2050 is a city of open doors, as long as you have the right connections. That connection is a djinni—a smart device implanted right in a person’s head. In a world where virtually everyone is online 24 hours a day, this connection presents plenty of opportunities for those who know how to manipulate it. But in this city, when something sounds too good to be true, it usually is, and Marisa and her friends soon find themselves in the middle of a conspiracy that is much bigger than they ever suspected.

Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley
A hilarious and heartwarming coming-of-age novel perfect for readers of All The Bright Places! Highly Illogical Behavior showcases the different ways in which we hide ourselves from the world—and the ways in which love, tragedy, and the need for connection can bring us back into the light.

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Pickett’s Picks for 2016!

  1. Riders looks like something I might try. I like the 4 horsemen of the apocalypse idea and the plot seems like it would be a mystery combined with a lot of action. I like that kind of book.

  2. I think the book Bluescreen seems very interesting because it seems to have a plot that I could get sucked into, along with the interesting utopia that turns out to be a dystopia setting. It seems like the book to feature great characters and a reality that is not too far-fetched.

  3. I would like to read ‘Highly Illogical Behavior’. It looks appealing because of the interesting summary. Also, it says that it’s perfect for ‘All The Bright Places’ readers, and that’s one of my favorite books of all time.

  4. I think bluescreen looks very interesting, i like that it is set way in the future without all the aspects of the Hunger Games, or Divergent mixed it it focuses on the world improving rather than not, sounds like a cool idea to have the internet put into your brain.

  5. A book I’m really interested in reading is The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude. This book seems very mysterious and suspenseful! I definitely want to read this book very soon and maybe even have our book club read it!

  6. Highly Illogical Behavior sounds like something I would really enjoy. I’m a sucker for any realistic coming of age story that focuses on unlikely relationships and does so honestly, and this story sounds like it does just that. Can’t wait to read it!

  7. Riders by Veronica Rossi seems like something I wouldn’t be able to put down. I’m interested by the plot set up. I want to know how she is going to make it different from the other types of book with the coming into powers and such. I also want to know about the girl in the description. ‘How is she involved in the solution of the end?’ and ‘Are the main character and her going to get involved?’ well the last one is obvious. The book just seems like something I would read over and over again.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s