Posted in Uncategorized

Pennsylvania Reader’s Choice Award – A Vote Equals a Voice!

Have you ever watched an awards show and thought, “I NEVER would have voted for that movie to win!” Or have you read an award-winning book and thought, “Really?! What were they thinking?!” If so, the Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award is for you! This is a book award that gives you, the reader, a voice! Every year, fifteen of the very best books are nominated. These books are all written by North American authors, and have been published within the last five years. They really are among the best of the best, but the winning book will need your vote!

I'll Give You the SunParticipating in the Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award is a snap. Here’s how to do it:

  • Read (or listen to) at least three books from the list of nominated titles
  • You do not have to read every book to participate
  • Vote for your favorite book in March!

That’s all there is to it. Stop by the library to pick up a bookmark with the list of nominated titles. Better yet, check out one of the books while you’re here! We have a whole display and extra copies of most of the books. And once you’ve read a book or two, leave a comment sharing your thoughts about it. Some things you might include in your comment are:

  • Did the book live up to your expectations based on the plot summary?
  • Would you recommend it to a friend?
  • Did you like this book more or less than other books you’ve read recently?
  • Would you vote for this book to win the Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award?

Remember, your favorite book needs YOUR vote to win!

69 thoughts on “Pennsylvania Reader’s Choice Award – A Vote Equals a Voice!

  1. I’m most interested in reading “I’ll give you the sun” by Jandy Nelson. I’m interested in the book because I appreciate stories that rely on or center around family and dysfunction. I especially am drawn in by the primary characters being brother and sister with a strong emotional bond because I can relate.

  2. I was most interested in reading is Those Who Wish Me Dead. I was interested by this because I like how it’s trilling becuase if I read book that’s boring and doesn’t pull me in and keep me entertained I’m probably going to forget about it. Since it’s a trilling book it will keep me entertained and I would want to keep reading and won’t just forget about it.

  3. I would like to read “We Should Hang Out Sometime” by Josh Sundquist, because it seems interesting. When we watched the video from the author in class, he seemed really funny and entertaining. I feel like it would be a great, quick read.

  4. The book that appealed to me the most was The Family Romanov. This appealed to me because recently I have gotten into historical fiction and this seems like a good one. Also, I never heard of the family it is about, so I am interested in learning about them.

  5. One of the books I would like to read the most is Those Who Wish Me Dead by Michael Koryta. This seems like such a great book and even if we don’t read it in our book club, I will definitely read it on my own time.

    Zoya G.

  6. Rebecca Schropshier – I’ll give you the sun- because it evolves around family and it kinda leaves you wanting to know what happened to make the brother and sister have so many problems with each other

  7. A book from this list I would like to read is Those Who Wish Me Dead by Michael Koryta. I personally love camping so the setting and themes would really get me to read this. The plot also seems intense and suspenseful which would keep me on the edge of my seat and I wouldn’t be able to put it down.
    Ethan G.

  8. Find Momo by Andrew Knapp is a really fun, creative book. He said it was easy to find Momo well he is totally wrong, but it was so cool that he was creative. Find Momo is a book that is fun for everyone and I love that he made a second one I’m so excited about it.
    Ashley Shanks.

  9. The book I’m currently reading is Noggin by John Corey Whaley and though Iam not finish I still feel like I know Travis the main character. He puts things in a point a view which I haven’t read in a while for young adult book, His humor in a dark situation make you laugh but you also feel bad at the same time. You feel for Travis but you can’t stop yourself from smiling as he explains what’s happening. I believe those are the best types of book to read they make you feel all types of emotions!!

  10. to all the boys iv’e loved before….i think this would be a great book read because i cant imagine how the end would be.

  11. the young elites look like a good book. it looks good because i like supper powers and knights and things like that. i really enjoyed the hobbiet and this seams like it.

  12. I liked Finding MoMo by Andrew Knapp because I like animals mainly dogs and how he goes around and takes pictures of his dog. Also I would read Noggin by John Corey Whaley because how he is reanimated and brought back to life. Finally The Young Elite by E. Lockhart it seems interesting because how they have supernatural powers and strange markings

  13. I’m more interested in the weight of blood because, I love reading things that has to do with people doing something illegal more than once and nobody knows who does it. It’s like a mystery.

  14. The book I would really like to read “All the bright places” By Jennifer Niven it seems like an amazing book and I like books with mystery.

  15. i would read all of the books but the youbg elietes becausd i didnt really like it but u lovd “find momo” and “to the boys i used to love before”

  16. The books i was most interested in were “If your reading this” and “Those who wish me dead”. Im interested in “If your readjng this” because it seems very interesting as the boy trys to figure out who is sending his fathers letters. Im am also interested in “Those who wish me dead” because I think it sound like a good book because of how the main character witnesses a murder and the murderers track him down because they dont want any loose ends.

  17. I’m most interested in reading we were liars by E.Lockhart. I would also like to read The young Elites by Marie Lu. My third book I would like to read is the weight of blood by Laura Mchugh. The last book would be we should hang out sometimes by josh sundquist.

  18. If Your Reading This is the book I would like to read the most because it seems interesting because of the challenges the boy try’s to do and to see if he can find out who is sending the letters by his father

  19. “Point” by Brandy Colbet and “The weight of blood”‘by Lauragh Mcgugh , because both books seem very interesting and fun to read.

  20. The books I was most interested in was Those who wish me dead by Michael Kortya, The family Romanov by Candance Fleming, The Weight of blood by Laura McHugh, We should hang out sometime by Jason Sundquist, and We are liars by E. Lockhart,

  21. The book I was most interested in was if your reading this the reason I was interested in this was because I am into the military and football there are my two favorite things. and I would like to know who is sending the messages

  22. “Noggin” because I love stories that are based on someone that left a school or a job but they came back for another period of time

  23. The book that appealed to me most was We Were Liars because it seems really interesting and I love mysteries. I would like to know what happened to the girl in the book and why she can’t remember important things.

  24. My favorite book that i would like to read is the family romanov because it seems like an interesting book with a good story being non-fiction is a plus too

  25. The book i found most intriguing would either be ‘The Young Elites’ or ‘All the Bright Places’ because I loved the concept of ‘The Young Elites’ because the book reminded me of ‘The Game Of Thrones’ which was a series I loved and this book just seems interesting. The second book I really like would be ‘All The Bright Places’ because it also reminded me of another book that I adored which is ‘The Fault In Our Stars’.

  26. I’m most interested in reading “We Were Liars” by E. Lodhart. It looks very interesting and I would love to know what happened to the girl on the island.

  27. I’m most interested in reading Noggin, because I enjoy comedy and tragedy. It seems like a nice mix of the two blended well together.

  28. I’m most interested in To all the boys I’ve loved before, we should hangout sometime, and noggin because they just look really good!!

  29. The Book I am most interested in reading is “The Family Romanov” because it is about the history of Russia a bit and has some mystery in it.

  30. I want to read “Those who wish me dead”, “If your reading this” and lastly “Noggin”. I would like to read these books because they all seem interesting and they are all genres I like and look for when reading books.

Leave a Reply

