Posted in Uncategorized

Read and Read-Alike!

Have you ever finished a book and thought, “I want to read another one just like that!” Well, a new resource on the Library’s web site will point you in the right direction. We’ve taken some of the most popular books here at Ridley High School and created lists of “Read-Alike” books with a similar topic, theme, or format. We’ve got lists for The Blind Side, Reality Check, Rot and Ruin, and Thirteen Reasons Why (among many others). For example, did you read The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson?

jenna_fox

If so, you might be interested in some other novels that feature biotechnology, clones, designer humans, and viral outbreaks. Check out the list of The Adoration of Jenna Fox Read-Alikes, which includes:

  • Dualed by Elsie Chapman
    West Grayer lives in a world where every person has a twin, or Alt. Only one can survive to adulthood, and West has just received her notice to kill her Alt.
  • Beta by Rachel Cohn
    On a futuristic island paradise where humans are served by enslaved clones, a sixteen-yearold clone named Elysia seeks her own freedom.
  • The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe
    Quarantined along with her neighbors when a deadly virus sweeps through their island community, 16-year-old Kaelyn finds herself struggling for survival in the face of dwindling supplies and infected loved ones.
  • Eve & Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate
    After being injured in a car accident, a patient recovering in her mother’s research facility is given the task of creating the perfect boy using detailed simulation technologies.
  • Partials by Dan Wells
    In a post-apocalyptic eastern seaboard ravaged by disease and war with a manmade race of people called Partials, the only chance for a future rests in the hands of Kira Walker, a 16 year-old medic in training.

partials

The Read-Alike lists feature a quick summary of each recommended book to help you decide which one to read next. And if you have a favorite book that isn’t featured with its Read-Alikes, please mention it so that we can help you find your next favorite book!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s