Posted in Uncategorized

Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award

Have you ever watched an awards show and thought, “I NEVER would have voted for that movie to win!” Or have you read an award-winning book and thought, “Really?! What were they thinking?!” If so, the Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award is for you! This is a book award that gives you, the reader, a vote! Every year, fifteen of the very best books are nominated. These books are all written by North American authors, and have been published within the last five years. All of the books are very current and relatable. The nominated books include nonfiction and graphic novels, too.

Participating in the Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award is a snap. Here’s how to do it:

  • Read (or listen to) at least three books from the list of nominated titles
  • You do not have to read every book to participate
  • Vote for your favorite book by March 1, 2011! (Voting forms are available in the library)

That’s all there is to it. Stop by the library to pick up a bookmark with the list of nominated titles. Better yet, check out one of the books while you’re here! We have a whole display and extra copies of most of the books. And once you’ve read a book or two, leave a comment sharing your thoughts about it. Some things you might include in your comment are:

  • Did the book live up to your expectations based on the plot summary?
  • Would you recommend it to a friend?
  • Did you like this book more or less than other books you’ve read recently?
  • Would you vote for this book to win the Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award?

So far some of the most popular titles are Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, After by Amy Efaw, and Stitches: A Memoir by David Small. Remember, just like on American Idol, your favorite book needs YOUR vote to win!

15 thoughts on “Pennsylvania Readers’ Choice Award

  1. Im in the middle of reading Stiches BY: David Small, so far the book is actually good im not really a person who likes to read but this book really has me wanting to read. From what i read so far its about a boy name David and he doesnt have the best life it seems like. His parents are not normal parents and either is his grandmom everybody is mean to him and now they have noticed something on his neck whoch seems to be really bad.

  2. I recommend The Greatest Muhammad Ali for anybody that is a fan of boxing. It is full of excitement and events of Ali’s career.

  3. I’m currently in the middle of reading Shiver. The characters of the book are well-rounded. The author’s writing style is very descriptive because when I read the book I feel like I am in the character’s world. The theme has a powerful message of acceptance and romance. I like the book but it is sort of confusing sometimes because of how the author jumps from setting to setting. One positive thing I would say about Shiver is how it reminds me of the Twilight Saga, which I really enjoyed reading.

  4. I finally finished a great book called If I Stay, this book is about a girl having a prefect life with her family and friends, until one damp evening she was in a really bad accident to the point when she loses her mom and her dad. Now she is stuck and has to make a hard decision whether she wants to stay and spend the rest of her life with her friends, family, and boyfriend who also cares about her a lot, or if she wants to go to heaven with her mom and her dad. i think that it was really good book because it gives a lot of details about her life; i would recommend this book to anybody who likes to read these kinds of books.

  5. I do not recommend 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher because it is kind of confusing, and hard to get into. it took me along time to read, so i abandoned the book.

  6. The graphic novel, Stitches, by David Small, was one of the best books I’ve ever read. It kept me in suspense the entire time. This book tells the story of a 6 year old boy who has to overcome many difficult obstacles.

  7. I would recommend the novel Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher. The book is slow at first, but as you continue to read, it has some what of a hidden meaning if you will. The book has a deep affect on the main character; Clay Jensen, is constantly worried on when he will show up in the 7 tapes sent to him in a shoe box. It is believable that someone would do the same thing as Hannah Baker has done, meaning saying what she needs to say on a tape, or tapes. The author’s writing style is descriptive and keeps me in suspense with every page I read. I have not got to the end yet, but I surely cant wait for the ending, it is killing me that I don’t know what happens to the tapes.

  8. i do not recommend 13 reasons why because i think the book wasn’t interesting. i think many people would like this book, i just couldn’t get in to the book.

  9. I’m in the middle of reading Thirteen Reasons Why By: Jay Asher. I really like the book; it seem confusing at first but you figure it out as you go along. I really like how how its not just Hannah talking the whole time and that Clay comes in at parts and says what he thinks about Hannah’s comments. But something that I do dislike about the book is that Hannah comes off topic and kind of looses focus, which could kind of throw some people off at times. The kind of people who would like this book are people who are into mysteries and who like to figure how the book will end just by clues given in the story. So, over-all, I would definitely recommend this book.

  10. I enjoyed the Maze Runner I liked how they put you into the book like your one of the boys and your goal is to escape. It was slow in the beginning but towards the middle than the book carried out and got better. I recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure. I also enjoyed the cover of the book it gave you a image of the wall.

  11. my book is “Stitches” by David Smalls. it is a graphic novel about a boy who had cancer in his neck, and was lied to about his surgery that stopped him from talking. this is one of the best books i ever read. it was very detailed from start to finish. it has a lot of pictures, and easy to read which is the right book for me.

  12. The Maze Runner was a great book; the main character Tom is a curious person who does not know anything about what is going on around him. Newt, who was the original leader, got hurt by a griever, so Alby took over and nobody likes him. I will not tell you about the ending because you have to read it yourself to find out. I really recommend this book.

  13. Stitches really drew me in. It was so realistic that I could see myself in the main character’s position. He really brings you inside his head and lets you understand his thinking. This novel also is graphic, which helps you picture everything and even see characters expression. I would recommend this to readers who have trouble visualizing things because it come right and shows you whats going on with all the graphics, which are on every page.

  14. I would recommend the book Stitches, by David Small. The reason behind me recommending this book is because it starts out when David was seven. His father is a doctor and his mother is way to hard on lil David. As the book goes on through the years, you find out why they call the book Stitches. The author is very descriptive with the illustrations and chosen words for the illustrations. To all who love Graphic Novels, I would recommend the book right to you because it has a deeper then life meaning.

Leave a Reply

